Comparison

DropSnaps vs GuestCam

GuestCam and DropSnaps both collect guests' photos and videos from a QR code in the phone's browser, with no app or account, keep the original files and run a live slideshow. GuestCam costs £37 or £77 per event for UK visitors (US$49 or US$97 elsewhere), has no free plan, and adds an audio guest book and a selfie-based photo finder; DropSnaps has a free plan, prices with VAT included, a wall guests browse with moment albums, and is run from the UK.

We make DropSnaps. Everything about GuestCam comes from its own website, checked on as a UK visitor sees it. Prices and plans change, so check before you buy.

DropSnaps and GuestCam compared, checked 11 October 2026
FeatureDropSnapsGuestCam
How guests joinScan a QR code or open a link; it works in the phone's browser, with no app and no accountScan a QR code or open the private link in the phone's browser; no app, account or password (its website says it has no app in the app stores)
Price for a weddingStandard £45 or Premium £99, a one-off payment per event, VAT includedStandard £37 or Premium £77 for UK visitors, a one-off fee per event (shown struck through from £41 and £82 on 11 October 2026; US$49 and US$97 for US visitors and in its FAQ); MagicFind selfie photo search is a £33 add-on
Free planUp to 50 photos, kept for 30 daysNone on its website: there's a demo gallery to look at, not a free event
VideoOn Standard and Premium, up to 4 GB or 8 GB per video; iPhone videos are converted to play everywhereYes, unlimited photos and videos on both plans; no size or length limit is stated
Photo qualityOriginal files kept, never compressedFiles stored in their original resolution
Live wall and slideshowYes: a live wall guests browse and a TV slideshow, with six looks to choose fromA live slideshow on every plan; a wall guests browse on their phones isn't described
Guest bookWritten notes, which can come with a photo; download them as text or a spreadsheet, or print them as a keepsake on PremiumPhotos, videos and voice messages: an audio guest book on the web and a "PhoneBooth", with a dial-in phone number on Premium (US and Canadian numbers only)
Approve before showingYes, optionalNot stated on its website; its terms say it doesn't pre-screen content
PIN or passwordOptional 4 to 6 digit PIN (the printed QR code includes it)Not stated; the host controls whether guests can view the gallery, upload to it, or both
Download everythingOne zip of every originalA one-click ZIP of every photo, video and voicemail
How long photos are kept12 months on paid plans, with more time available to buy; 30 days on FreeStandard: uploads for 6 months and storage for 12 months; Premium: 12 and 14 months; both counted from the event date
Prices shown inPounds, VAT includedPounds for UK visitors and US dollars elsewhere, chosen by location (no selector); its terms say sales tax is added where required, and whether VAT is included isn't stated
CompanyRun from the UK; photos stored in Western EuropeMenubar Labs LLC (GuestCam); its terms refer to the US Federal Arbitration Act; no address, country or data location is stated

Which should you choose?

Choose GuestCam if…

  • You want an audio guest book with voice messages from guests.
  • You'd like guests to find their own photos from a selfie (the MagicFind add-on).
  • You want several main galleries with their own QR codes (Premium) and guest pages in 17 languages.

Choose DropSnaps if…

  • You want a price with VAT included and a free plan for a small event.
  • You want a live wall guests browse on their phones, with moment tags that sort photos into albums.
  • You want a UK company with photos stored in Western Europe and a stated keeping period on every plan.

Questions people ask

Is GuestCam free?

No. GuestCam has no free plan on its website (there's a demo gallery to look at); events are a one-off £37 (Standard) or £77 (Premium) for UK visitors, US$49 or US$97 elsewhere, with sales tax added where required.

Do guests need an app for GuestCam?

No. Guests scan the QR code or open the link in their phone's browser; GuestCam says it has no app in the Apple or Google stores.

Where is GuestCam based?

GuestCam is run by Menubar Labs LLC. Its terms of service refer to the US Federal Arbitration Act and its FAQ quotes prices in US dollars; its website doesn't give an address, a country or where photos are stored.

How long does GuestCam keep photos?

12 months of storage on Standard (with uploads open for 6 months) and 14 months on Premium (uploads open for 12 months), counted from the event date.

Where these facts come from

GuestCam's own pages, checked on 11 October 2026: